Skip to content

What comes before Part B?

March 18, 2009

If you don’t know, ask someone.  Last Friday night, to celebrate the opening of Spring Break, one of my friends threw a cocktail party. The idea was for each guest to bring the ingredients for their favorite cocktail. Everyone could then take sips of each others’ drinks and trade recipes. It was a great success, and the drink that I sort-of-invented (it’s just a variation of another drink) was a HUGE success.  Mostly with me. We named it the Antifreeze because that’s what it looks like. I apologize for the lack of exact measurements, but here’s the basic recipe should you wish to try it.

  • 1 part Hpnotiq (blue, fruity, amazing, mildly expensive)
  • 2 parts vodka (any brand, but flavored didn’t work well)
  • 3, or 4, or 5 parts Mountain Dew (depending on how much you like to taste the alcohol)
  • Splash of pineapple juice (clouds the drink, which makes for a great color)

It was smooth, tasty, fruity, and not very alcoholic-tasting. Perfect for girls who don’t much care for alcohol and who are also responsible. I can see it being a little dangerous since it tastes amazing and not much like alcohol, but goodness it is amazing. Mmmm, Antifreeze.

I always see alternative states (alcohol, exhaustion, caffeine) as an opportunity for art, especially writing and photography.  It seems as though a moment in which I am not seeing the world in the usual way should result in art that is more interesting or important than the usual. It sometimes works.

I don’t want to imply that I over-imbibed in an way, but it was certainly an interesting evening. I had a couple of drinks over the course of a couple of hours and then I migrated to a couch. Once I got there, I mostly stayed put (with the exception of multiple trips to the bathroom, where I took the obligatory photos of myself. This is becoming a habit.)

.

For the rest of the evening, I hung out on the couch. People came and went. I took their pictures. People handed me things (girl scout cookies, cards, glasses) and I held them or consumed them. Occasionally there was a short fit of giggles. I felt like I was holding court there on my couch in my red cocktail dress.  Nothing existed outside of my couch. I didn’t pay any attention to what was happening outside my little bubble, and I actually barely saw my fiance the whole night. I felt like I was in the midst of an “oh, look how much fun she has” montage in a movie about a slightly irresponsible but lovable 20something.  This was unusual since I am both shy and very responsible. My night on the couch was great, actually. I’d share more photos with you, but as the shy responsible one, I’m always leery of discussing/posting pictures of parties. I don’t want to offend anyone or post something that will come back to hurt someone later. It wasn’t a real wild party, but still. Despite all that, I offer the following photo.  That’s one of my good friends in the photo. Beyond that, I can’t begin to explain what is happening here. Hiding from lions, maybe?

I then spent a few days visiting my father and my grandparents (it’s their 53rd wedding anniversary today), and now I’m home for a day or two. After that, I get to help build a treehouse. I’m enjoying Spring Break despite the lack of tequila, sand, and half-naked people.

Drink responsibly, people. Oh, and post your best (or worst) Spring Break story in the comments.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

