Skip to content

SILT (Stuff I Learned Today) #2

May 22, 2008

Stuff I learned today: In Japan, if you ask for a “glass of water,” the assumption is that you actually want a glass, and will not accept a paper cup or any other drink container. 

Also: There are at least 5 cats that look like Wilford Brimley.

 

Stuff I already know: Magic Johnson is on such effective treatment programs for his HIV that the virus levels frequently do not show up on HIV tests. This has prompted many to believe that there is a cure for HIV which is being withheld from the general population. Click here for more.

 

Stuff I want to know: I want to learn more about the historical and political situation in the Congo, especially in the 50s and 60s (mostly because I enjoy the Poisonwood Bible so much).  Check here for people’s suggestions on where to learn more.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mike Robinson permalink
    May 22, 2008 5:48 am

    I think the same thing about Magic. No joke. It makes a lot of sense, and upsets me greatly.

    (Update. Mike, I can edit your comment, and thus make it sound like you said amazing stuff about me when you didn’t)

Leave a Reply

