Skip to content

Ok, folks. This is ridiculous.

May 29, 2008

I grew up in West Virginia, and I went home to visit family for the weekend. Here’s some of the stuff that people in West Virginia are saying about the upcoming Presdiential election (keep in mind that these are NOT my opinions, but ARE things that actual people said to me, in passing, without any prodding on my part, and are reproduced as well as I can remember them):

 

*People here would die before they elect a black man as President.

*If Barack Obama gets the nomination, McCain will win, and then the world will really go to hell. We won’t be able to buy food, even. We’re already having food shortages, and things will just get worse if McCain is President. We really need to get rid of Barack Obama.

*Barack Obama is a Muslim.

*I don’t want anyone named Hussein running this country.

*The Hilary campaign has something so big, so dirty, on Barack Obama that he will have to drop out of the race. The only reason that they haven’t released it is because they are hoping someone else will do so first.

*You know, I was reading the other day where a black man was saying that rich white people are trying to turn poor white people against blacks, so that the rich whites can maintain their dominance. Apparently that’s what happened in the civil war, and that’s what is happening with this election.

*Even though Barack Obama says that he’s not a Muslim, he really is, and he’s going to give the country over to terrorists when he becomes President.

*It’s only city people who are voting for Obama. 

(Said in a manner that made me feel like city people were some sort of monsters)

 

It was like going back in time, or something.  I tried to convince people, at least, that Barack Obama is neither a Muslim nor a terrorist, and that he is not related to Saddam Hussein. I wasn’t able to successfully do even that. I really wish that there was some sort of global agreement that campaigns will not only not participate in such ridiculousness, but that they will correct their own followers when they have untrue and demeaning beliefs about other candidates.

I would have liked to see Hilary Clinton, while campaigning in West Virginia, stand up and say “I think that I am a better candidate than Barack Obama. However, I want you to vote for me because you agree with me, and not because you believe things that are not true about him. Barack Obama is not a Muslim. Barack Obama is not a terrorist. These things are simply not true.” 

Ugh. I hate it that my home state contains so much ignorance. I tried to combat it, but people aren’t willing to listen to reason. They got an email, or they saw it on CNN, or their brother told them. How can we make people see that they are being told lies, and that they are swallowing them whole?

Thoughts, anyone?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Joe permalink
    May 29, 2008 11:27 pm

    I grew up in Ohio with same type of folks fifty years ago.
    I left, dumb never changes.

  2. May 30, 2008 12:07 am

    *sigh* It’s enough to make you lose hope, isn’t it? Great blog! I’m glad I stumbled over here.

  3. May 30, 2008 2:06 am

    Sometimes people choose to be ignorant that way its ignorance not racism preventing them from voting for a black men. They’re not stupid. Stupid is the inability to learn something; its not a choice. Ignorance is having the ability to learn something or a point of view but choosing not to. Sad. That which we fear most is usually that which liberates us. Fear is a dangerous thing. Frightening. The blog below might have some posts that are of interest to you.

    Peace ,
    Paulette
    http://www.letustalk,wordpress.com

  4. Mike Robinson permalink
    May 30, 2008 3:41 am

    Same thing happens to me when I go home to Pikeville, KY. Growing city, but still stuck with the white man superiority thing. Or at least, the “I’ll never do this or that for a black person” thing. That’s one of the few good qualities about living in Lexington–I don’t have to listen to racist bullshit.

  5. Earl permalink
    May 30, 2008 11:06 am

    Same thing in Pennsylvania

  6. May 30, 2008 8:05 pm

    Wow. No wonder ‘blacks’ feel the way they do. Being a white female, with just a few black friends, I’m always asking for ‘proof’, for examples, for something more than the media has to offer regarding the continuing racism in our country. My black friends point to remarks made by black people to them – they’re too white, they’re on the ‘rich white side’, etc. The only time racist experiences were brought up were from yesteryear.
    Wow.
    I try so hard not to be judgemental, but when someone makes it easy by wearing a sign! Good lord.
    I’ll just take my educated self over to my educated friends (including blacks, asian and a native american indian) and lament that I was wrong – I thought small town stupid went out a few years ago.

  7. June 5, 2008 5:21 am

    good

Leave a Reply

