Skip to content

Obligations, smobligations

June 8, 2008

I haven’t written anything in a few days, and I haven’t written anything serious (i.e. non-personal) in a few more. It’s been an interesting week. I was sick for a couple of days, and just when I got over that, I had a long, emotional discussion with a dear friend of mine. Things just might be getting back on track. I hope so. I’m putting a lot of effort into it. I also took intercontinental shots with a friend via IM. I’d never done that before, and I’ve never heard of anyone else doing it either. It was certainly an experience, and it created quite the feeling of togetherness to drink to one another at exactly the same time, even if we were on different continents.

 

Yesterday, at the renaissance faire, we released my butterflies. The first three flew away, no problem, to settle among the flowers. The last butterfly, Stumpy, I had concerns about. He was the only one I named, and he got his name because one wing was smaller than the other and slightly crumpled. I wasn’t sure if he could fly, and when I tried to usher him out of the cage, it didn’t seem like he was going to be able to do it. I got a bit teary-eyed as we discussed just keeping him until he died of butterfly old age in a few weeks. Then I thought of the other butterflies, enjoying the sun and the breezes and the flowers. I decided to gently transplant him to a large bunch of flowers, hoping that he could at least crawl around on them for food, and that this would make him happier than living in my apartment. He tottered over the flowers for a few minutes, and then, with a great deal of effort, weaving, and a minor crash landing, he flew (flew!) to a group of flowers a few feet away. I was in absolute tears by this point. I’m so glad we gave him a chance to fly. It seems like I got overly involved in these butterflies, especially since I wasn’t too attached to them until I released them, but I did have them for several weeks, while they made the transformation from tiny caterpillars to beautiful butterflies. It was an amazing present, and I can’t thank Josef enough for it.

I’ve been sleepy, sick, busy, and emotionally drained. I am still several of the above. I’m planning on writing another post (maybe I’ll finally write the one about the prairie dog) in the next day or so. Right now, I really need a nap. The call of the sandman is greater than the need to write.
 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

