Skip to content

Obama, you just won my vote / Supreme Court Decision in Child Rape Execution Case

June 26, 2008

Granted, I was already pretty sure that I was going to vote for Obama in November. However, something that I learned this morning has pushed me firmly into his camp, even if it turns out that he has two heads or something.

I’ve been half-heartedly keeping an eye on a recent Supreme Court trial which concerned child rapists and the death penalty. Some states have recently been pushing for (and putting on the books) laws that allow the execution of anyone who rapes a child under 12. This is an issue of huge interest to me, so an intelligent reader might ask why I’ve only been following the story half-heartedly. The reason is that in the U.S., child abusers and child rapists seldom seem to receive the punishment that they deserve. I couldn’t see how this instance would be any different. It turns out that I was mostly right. The Supreme Court has decided that executing child rapists is unconstitutional. However, the decision was only 5-4, which gives me some hope for the country.

The dissenters were  Chief Justice John Roberts, Justice Antonin Scalia, Justice Clarence Thomas and Justice Samuel Alito. Justice Alito wrote the dissent, saying that the decision does not allow execution of child rapists “no matter how young the child, no matter how many times the child is raped, no matter how many children the perpetrator rapes, no matter how sadistic the crime, no matter how much physical or psychological trauma is inflicted and no matter how heinous the perpetrator’s criminal record may be.”

Both Obama and McCain have gone on record saying that they disagree with the Supreme Court’s decision (another thing that gives me a little hope for this country). You can see an article discussing their responses over at the Wall Street Journal blog page. I’m proud of both candidates for their stance, and this only cements my belief in Obama. I’m also proud of the politicians around the country who have said that they will not abide by this decision.

Hopefully, despite this Supreme Court decision, or maybe because of it, this country will take more steps toward making the nation’s children safer.

If you’re interested in this topic, please check out this blog, which has a very well thought-out explanation for why this Supreme Court decision is wrong.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 18, 2008 4:21 pm

    I find it interesting that Obama and McCain agreed on something. It seems to me that Obama has been changing his opinions a lot lately, perhaps in order to gather votes from the “mushy middle.”

    Anyway, thanks for linking to my article!

Leave a Reply

