Skip to content

On the California Earthquake: I told you so!

July 30, 2008

Earlier today, a magnitude 5.4 earthquake struck LA, accompanied by more than 30 aftershocks. I’ve only got one thing to say about this: I told you so.

Since April 18th of this year, I’ve been predicting a seismic-related catastrophe. And while today’s earthquake was nothing like a catastrophe, it only serves as the icing on my prophetic cake. Even the devastating earthquake in China took place almost a month after my prediction.

Here, copy/pasted from my Myspace blog, is my original prediction, from April 18, 2008.

Friday, April 18, 2008

Earthquake Prediction
Current mood: focused
Category: Life

 

So I’ve noticed, due to my news addiction, a growing number of earthquakes and increased volcanic activity in the last few weeks. Specifically, there have been hundreds of small earthquakes off the coast of Oregon, a large earthquake in the ocean near Australia, the Midwestern earthquake this morning, an earthquake in East Timor, and an eruption in Hawaii, along with one or two others that I’m not remembering off the top of my head. And those are just the earthquakes we see in the news.

I’m taking this information and putting forth the guess that there is some sort of global seismic disturbance going on. Obviously, if that’s the case, people like the National Geological Survey should know about it or be investigating it. At least, I hope so. But, not knowing nearly enough about this sort of thing to understand what such growing geologic activity could mean (and honestly, it could just be the sort of thing that comes and goes in cycles), I can only say “Look at all the pretty coincidences!”

Seriously, though, for the first time I understand doomsday prophets. I’m concerned that there is going to be some serious geological sh*t going down in the near future. So there. I’ve warned you. Do with it what you will.

 

The newest earthquake, which was felt from Las Angeles to to San Deigo to Las Vegas, has done minimal damage and there are surprisingly few reports of injuries. It is the most damaging earthquake to strike Southern California in almost 15 years.

As I said in my earlier post, I’m no expert, but all of this activity seems to be more than coincidence to me. Of course, maybe it is, as friends have suggested, one of those situations where you spend six months hunting for some bizarre gift for someone, only to have that gift pop up everywhere you look for weeks afterward. I may just be tuned in more fully to earthquakes recently. It still makes me a bit nervous, and I really wish I knew an expert who could calm my fears. Or, perhaps, launch into some it’s-the-end-of-the-world-let’s-assemble-a-team-of-handsome-scientists-because-only-they-can-save-us sort of action. The kind that translates well onto the silver screen. In any case, I am only here to provide my suspicions, unfounded though they may be. Take this information and do with it what you can. Just don’t send me the bill for earthquake-proofing your house.

Here’s a link to the U.S. Geological Survey’s “Recent Earthquakes” page, for your enjoyment. Also, if you’re brave, you can contact a geologist and ask them their opinion on my ridiculous theory.

Some links to news stories about recent earthquake activity, provided to give more substance to my claims: 

California Earthquake 7-29-08

Solomon Islands Earthquake 7-29-08

Montserrat Volcano Activity 7-29-08

New Jersey Earthquake 7-28-08

Sumatra, Indonesia Earthquake 7-29-08

Bangladesh Earthquake 7-27-08

Chile Volcano Eruption 7-24-08

Alaskan Volcano Eruption 7-14-08

Japan Earthquake 7-19-08

China Earthquake 5-12-08

Concerns in Pacific Northwest

 

Have your own predictions? Think I’ve gone mad? That’s what the comments section is for. And just to be sure that you’re paying attention, I’m going to send an envelope containing mysterious correspondence to one of the first ten commenters, at random!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2008 5:38 pm

    I recommend you consult the Bible in Revelations it is all there. Also I pick opening ceromonys of the China Olympics (8-8-08) as the most likely 8.0 magnitude. I predict earthquakes and tornadoe swarms and volcanic eruptions and also political events. Natures God in the Decleration of Independance is key. The Lieying cheating and stealing and corruption of the 1920’s brought the Great depression then WW II. Here we go again!
    visit: http://www.CaptainDemocracy.wordpress.com
    thank you and check in
    “Captain Democracy”

  2. July 31, 2008 7:15 pm

    I agree, i have a few other ideas on the subject too!!!

    much luv and i hope little shaking tuyu xox

Trackbacks

  1. california earthquake

Leave a Reply

