Skip to content

So . . .

August 18, 2008
tags: ,

The blogging thing, as you can see, hasn’t really been happening much recently.

There are a lot of reasons, and I’m trying to keep them from sounding like excuses (because, after all, why should I feel guilty about not working on something that is a purely elective thing, that I am only doing to improve my writing ability). Mostly, I’ve been busy. I just moved into a larger apartment across town from the old place. It has two bedrooms, a fenced backyard, central air and heating, and a dishwasher and washer/dryer. There’s also a cellar, which our landlord was aparently unaware of, and which Josef and Chet have designated the “Man Room” and intend to use for storing beer. It’s a weird situation, because it really feels like home here. I am actually a bit annoyed when the people who are renting the other half of the house are around, because I feel like it’s all ours. Very strange.

Also, I got a new job. I’m now a housekeeper, and I work every weekday doing basic cleaning and picking up for a family of five. It’s not terribly hard work, though getting up in the morning is rather unpleasant for someone who hates morning as much as I do. The very nice thing is that this job pays more than tutoring for less hours, and I can still tutor in the evenings (provided that I still have the energy, which does concern me a bit). To add to the current mayhem, I’m working night desk 8 nights out of the next 11 or so, which means that my schedule is all topsy-turvy.

However, I’m realizing that things are good. Really, really, good, for the first time in a while. I have a place to live that I love, and I have the money to pay for it. I’m going on vacation over Labor Day with my father and Josef near Gatlinburg, and I get to go horseback riding and whitewater rafting while I’m there. My uncle is in jail and likely to stay there for a while. Probably most relieving for me currently, I’m reasonably sure (barring any ridiculous behavior on his part) that I’ve fixed my relationship with one of my closest friends, after an extended period of things not going so well.

Life is good. I’m going into my last real semester of my undergrad degree (just observation in the spring), surrounded by people who love me, and I’m mostly able to support myself. I’m going to be busy, but most of the things that I’m doing aren’t terribly difficult. I’m ready to “bloom” a bit this semester, I think. I’m ready to spend more time playing in fountains and less time checking my email. I’m ready to worry less and enjoy more. I’m ready to be a bit spontaneous. Best of all, I know that there are people who will let me know if I’m drifting too far away from the things that I want, and who will be there if I make a mistake.

 

Go me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    August 27, 2008 6:56 pm

    I feel you on the blogging irregularity thing. Life happens, and we really can’t do much about it. I potentially have good news–more on Friday.

Leave a Reply

