Skip to content

Why, hello, 2009.

January 7, 2009

The new year is here. Christmas was wonderful, the best that I can recall. I spent time with friends and family, got everything I could possibly want, etc etc. I’m now home, and filled with this strange so-many-things-to-do-yet-the-schedule-is-empty sort of feeling. My to-do list is long, and some of the things on it will take substantial amounts of time, but class doesn’t start until next week (and I’m only taking one), and tutoring doesn’t start until the 27th. This means that I get to goof off quite a bit. I expect to spend a good deal of time playing Lego Star Wars. That’s a good plan to have, I think.

I’ve also re-discovered Dave Eggers. He wrote “A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius” (which truly is), as well as “What is the What.” I’ve just finished this second book, and it’s amazing. It’s the biography of a young man from Sudan, written by Dave due to his command of language. All of the proceeds go to a foundation set up by the subject of the biography. I look at Dave Eggers, and I see my idea of myself in twenty years. He’s a successful author, owns a publishing company, teaches high school, edits “The Best American Non-required Reading”, and has several make-the-world-bettter sort of endeavors. Yes, please. Check him out here, and tell me that you don’t love him.  Or, better yet, tell me that you do.

I’m off to edit more photos. The process seems never-ending, but there really aren’t that many of them. Then they go up on facebook, where I gain some “constructive criticism.” Mostly it’s one of Josef’s cousins stating what is obviously in each picture, and about six other people saying “Hey! I/you/she look(s) bad/good/strange in this picture. Also, why is there a cow/lobster/toothpick in the corner?”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2009 1:33 pm

    I just started reading AHWOSG at the recommendation of a friend. I have to admit, I’ve been peeing my pants and tearing up simultaneously. It’s good to finally have a reason for it.

  2. January 7, 2009 1:34 pm

    Also, I like it when you blog.

    Kthxbye.

Leave a Reply

