Skip to content

Since when are 13-year-olds so gussied up?

January 17, 2009

UPDATE: There seem to be a lot of people finding this page by searching for things like “sexy 13 year olds”,  “pretty 14 year olds” etc. Unless you’re also 13, I seriously suggest you think about what you’re searching for. As someone who was sexually abused for most of my childhood, just seeing those search stats makes me shiver. For the rest of you, welcome, and I hope you enjoy this fairly unimportant post.

I went skating tonight for the first time in three or four years. I used to go all the time, but since high school it’s been harder to find people to go with. I went tonight because my fiance is in Washington, D.C. for the inauguration, and I was bored. My first discovery was that there were an awful lot of very pretty girls there. I thought they all looked a bit younger than the high school crowd that usually hung out at the rink I used to go to, but I chalked that up to my own advanced age.

Then the DJ called for a 13-15 year old skate, and low and behold all the pretty girls were out there on the floor skating. I was flabbergasted. I finally asked a couple of “older looking” girls how old they were, and the oldest I got was 16. And we all know how high school girls like to lie to make themselves older. Since when can 13-year-olds wear makeup and miniskirts? I mean, I’ve never been of the opinion that girls are “asking for it” by dressing in a provocative fashion, but when a 13 year old looks like these did, most guys couldn’t help but find them attractive.  It’s a problem.

Other than that and a couple of blisters (and an inexplicably sore finger, which Mike chalks up to me tying my skates too vigorously) the night went well. I kept wishing that my friends from high school were there, but that’s to be expected. I kind of want to be thirteen again, too. I mean, if I could be thirteen and look like that? Wait, let me find a photo of myself at 13.  Ok, it’s actually probably me at 14, but this is what I saw as the height of fashion and beauty at 14. Also below are the two girls from Smoosh, who are 13. Now granted, they’re in a band and probably prettied up for the picture, but they’re STILL not as pretty as the girls I saw skating tonight.

I’m off to nurse my sore finger. Please feel free to comment on any or all of the above.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2009 2:06 pm

    Hii , yeah i noticed that … But like i`m 15 and I shouldn`t be talking cause i was 11 when i started wearing make up and stuff .. but it`s just the enviorment we live in now , and the in style clothes and everything . Some of them might be pretty , and some of them look like hoochies.

  2. Cre permalink
    June 1, 2009 11:05 pm

    Hi! It’s funny, my daughter is turning 13 tomorrow, and I am concerned about the same things you are talking about. My daughter looks to be 16 years old. She seems to have a good attitude and we seem to have a great relationship. But, every once in a while, I wonder if I’m being grossly naive. She does dress “cute,” but she is also sexy.

    Anyway…I was looking for practical advice, and I didn’t really find that…but it is comforting to know that others have the same concerns.

  3. abi(13) permalink
    August 18, 2009 4:58 pm

    im not being funni but wearing make-up is jst apart of growin up well i cant tlk i wore make up since i was 3 im a beuty qween in america i have acrilic nails and bleached hair i did have a normal child hood

  4. ashleigh permalink
    September 7, 2009 1:12 am

    Well i think its okay for 13 yr olds to wear make up, it just depends on how much they put on. and im really jelous of them. im like 12 and really close to 13 and im trying to convince my mom to let me wear it at that age but she thinks im too young too. EVERYONE in my new school is wearing pretty make up and i guess that just makes more girls interested because they want to be pretty with the other girls

  5. Rachaell permalink
    November 23, 2009 10:07 pm

    I am 13 and have been wearing make up since I was about 10. My mom does not have a problem with it, its just part of growing up. (:

  6. Tamara B permalink
    December 6, 2009 10:03 pm

    There is no freaking way that my daughters will be wearing makeup at 13. I didn’t get into that stuff until I hit 19 and I turned out just fine. My husband and I will move to a third world country if we have to to protect our children from “the times” and “the style” of this grossly warped society!!!!

    I was also a victim of this environment, drugged and raped at a friends houseparty, at age 16 by two guys in their twenties. I was so ashamed and felt like I was partly responsible for it that I hid it for years. I wish I hadn’t. I would love to see those bastards in jail now!!!!!

  7. cheyenne permalink
    December 29, 2009 1:08 am

    the reason why we do it is because we want guys to like us…girls my age are so insecure these days they do anything to get guys to like them. we cant help it we want to look good. its not a crime to wear makeup and skirts…just because you didnt wear makeup at our age doesnt mean we shouldntt

  8. Kiranna permalink
    January 15, 2010 10:32 pm

    I’m 13 and i really think makeup and all that girl crap is really stupid. And to be honest, I am not ugly.

Leave a Reply

