Skip to content

Let’s Play Dream Interpreter!

January 18, 2009

I dream just about every night, and I recall something of my dreams just about every morning. If you have a hard time recalling your dreams, try waking up slowly instead of waking up to a jarring alarm. Somehow, that works for me. Also, try writing down your dreams. I usually recall a ton of details as I’m writing.

Last night, or rather, this morning, as due to a weird work schedule I didn’t get to bed until 7:30am, I had several dreams that were especially vivid. I thought I would reproduce two here as an amusing look at my sleeping mind. Also, we can attempt to interpret them. It’ll be fun. Go ahead and get out your Dream Bingo scorecards, and we’ll get started. To provide us with some “expert advice,” I’ve consulted the Dream Moods Dictionary.

First dream: I was visiting someone in a very nice cottage in the woods, possibly for a party. There was alcohol, I recall that, at least. I remember drinking a bottle of cider and considering whether I could drive, based on my consumption of tea all afternoon. Then I was attempting to leave, and wandering all around the party to gather my things. This always takes forever in dreams, for some reason. I almost never make it to wherever I’m going in my dream because it takes me so long to get ready.  In this dream, I kept finding new, unworn clothing that I had left at this house previously, as well as books that the host was giving away. Most of the books that I took were Scottish cookbooks from the 1200’s. I intended to give them to my fiance’s mother.

Somehow, instead of leaving, I ended up helping a young child take a bath. I could see in the mirror that a creepy man was watching the child take a bath, and I got really scared. I tried to tell the owner of the house that the man was dangerous, but no one wanted to believe me. So then I abandoned all of my things and tried to escape. The house was surrounded by fields with horses in them. Although I love horses in real life, they are often very dangerous in my dreams. This time, I could avoid the horses by wading across a stream, but the closer I got to the stream, the wider and faster-running it looked. The large boulders in the stream were also covered in slippery moss, and I somehow knew that the water would be icy cold. The dream ended before I made a decision.

Keywords:      (All definitions come from the Dream Dictionary, as do all grammar errors in those definitions)

Alcohol – To dream that you are enjoying alcohol in moderation, denotes contentment and satisfaction in the decisions that you have made. Success is within your grasp. The dream may also be a metaphor for “spirits” and you need for spiritual enrichment.

Packing – To dream that you are packing, unpacking and packing and unpacking again, represents chaos in your life.  You are having trouble juggling various components of your life. You are carrying around too many burdens but have trouble letting go some of these burdens. Consider what unfinished business you have to tend to. Try to resolve these issues so they can finally be put to rest.

Books -To see books in your dream, indicates calmness. You are moving toward your goals at a slow and steady pace. Books also symbolize knowledge, intellect, information and wisdom. Consider the type of book for additional clues. The dream may represent your calling into a specific field of work or an area that you need to devote more study to. To see dusty books in your dream, denotes forgotten knowledge or previous “chapters” of your life.

Clothing – To dream of your clothes, is symbolic of your public self and how you are perceived. It is indicative of the act you put on in front of others. Clothes are also an indication of your condition and status in life.  Thus if you wear clothes that do not suit you or that you normally would not wear, then it suggests that you are putting up a front and trying to deceive others. It may be a symbol of hypocrisy and being someone that you are not. Alternatively, it could also mean that you are revealing a hidden par t of yourself to the world.

Child -To see children in your dream, signify an aspect of yourself and your childlike qualities. You may be retreating back to a childlike state where you are longing for the past and the chance to satisfy repressed desires and unfulfilled hopes. Perhaps there is something that you need to see grow and nurtured.  Take some time off and cater to the inner child within. Alternatively, the dream may be highlighting you innocence, purity, simplicity, and carefree attitude.

Bathing – To dream that you are bathing someone, suggests that you are seeking a closer connection with that person. It also points to your nurturing side.

Horse – To see a horse in your dream, symbolizes strength, power, endurance, virility and sexual prowess. It also represents a strong, physical energy.  You need to tame the wild forces. The dream may imply that you have been horsing around. Alternatively, the dream indicates that you need to be less arrogant and “get off your high horse”

Stream – To see a stream in your dream, signifies that you will come upon a flow of fresh and profound ideas.

Second Dream – I was at my childhood home in West Virginia, and a bunch of people had come to visit, including my fiance’s cousins from California. I wanted to show them around the surrounding fields, but they had started without me. I had to cross an electric fence and pass some goats to get to them. Somewhere along the way, my vision grew cloudy, and I couldn’t seem to focus my eyes. This is another recurring theme in dreams for me.

The next thing I knew, I was in California near the shore. Several other people were with me, and we were in a camper. We needed to crawl through the camper and then walk along the shore to get back to where we needed to be. The first time we tried this, the tide was so high that we were almost swept into the water. When a wave hit me, I actually tasted the salt water. We went back to the camper, and a naked man and woman were there. They told us to retry what we had just done. When I asked when the next high tide was, they replied that it would be at least two weeks. Also, the inside of the camper was now weightless, as if it was a space station.

We went back out of the camper and into the water, instead of along the shore. There were flotation devices everywhere we looked, so I grabbed as many as I could carry and told the others with me to strap them on. We started paddling along the shore, and almost immediately made it to our destination. We went into a house, and it was the definition of what a house full of hippies would look like. A guy that I know (name withheld to protect his reputation) took me to his room and told me that I could sleep there. The bedspread was flowered. I felt very safe and happy. Then the dream ended.

Keywords:   (Again, all definitions are from the Dream Dictionary)

Home -To see your home in your dream, signifies security, basic needs, and values. You may be feeling at home at your new job or you finally feel settled and comfortable in a new environment. Alternative, the dream represents your basic needs and priorities. In particular, to see your childhood home, your hometown, or a home that you previously lived in, indicates your own desires for building a family. It also reflects aspects of yourself that were prominent or developed during the time you lived in that home. You may experience some feelings or unfinished expression of emotions that are now being triggered by a waking situation.

Fence – To see a fence in your dream, signifies an obstacle or barrier that may be standing on your path. You may feel confined and restricted in expressing yourself. Are you feeling fenced in some situation or confined in some relationship? Alternatively, it may symbolize a need for privacy. You may want to shut off the rest of the world.

Goats – To see a goat in your dream, represents your lack of judgment and your gullibility. Alternatively, goats are symbolic of sexuality, sexual desire, and lechery.  Also consider the associations with the goat as in “scapegoat” or “getting someone’s goat”. Do you feel that you have been blamed for someone else’s deed?


Vision – To dream that your vision is obstructed, signifies that you are having difficulties and errors in judgment.

Ocean – To see an ocean in your dream, represents the state of your emotions and feelings.  It is indicative of some spiritual refreshment,  tranquility and renewal.

Tides -To  dream of the tides, represents a need emotional and spiritual cleansing. Low tides may indicate that you energies have been drained, whereas high tides symbolize high energy.

Naked – To see a naked person in your dream and you are disgusted by it, signifies some anxiety about discovering the naked truth about that person or situation. It may also foretell of an illicit love affairs,  loss of prestige and scandalous activities. On the other hand, if you are accepting about another’s nudity, then it implies that you see through people and accept them for who and what they are. If you do not care about someone else’s nudity, then it suggests that you need to learn not to be afraid of rejection.

Floating -To dream that you are floating on air, indicates your contentment and acceptance of some situation. You are letting go of your problems or worries and just going with the flow. As a result, you are experiencing new-found freedom. You will rise above your obstacles that may presently seem overwhelming. Alternatively, it suggests that you wandering through life aimlessly with no goals. To dream that you are floating in water, suggests that you have a handle on your emotions.

Hippie -To see a hippie in your dream, represents excess and freedom of expression. To dream that you are a hippie, suggests that you want to be different. You are rejecting societal norms and conventional values.

Bed -To see your bed in your dream, represents you intimate self and discovery of your sexuality.  If you are sleeping in your own bed, then it denotes security and restoration of your mind. You may be looking for domestic bliss, for peace or for some form of escape. If you are waking up in a different and/or unknown bed, then it represents the consequences of the decisions you have made. The dream may also be a pun on the completion of a project and putting it to bed. To dream that you are going to bed with someone you are not sexual with, represents some sort of partnership or some aspect of yourself that you need to acknowledge and come to terms with.

Ok, so there we go. My overall interpretation of these dreams, based on the information that I gained from the Dream Dictionary? Well, almost every item that I looked up either pointed to chaos, lack of judgment, and confusion, or to contentment, peace, safety, and renewal. If I were to try and make that make sense, I would say that perhaps I have a choice in life, and things could go either way. The fact that the person who causes the most confusion in my life and makes me doubt my judgement the most was also the person who provided me with safety in the second dream is thoroughly confusing.

As an aside, I would like to point out that I am dubious about the whole process of deciphering dreams. I am of the belief that you dream about things that you are thinking about, in an attempt at working them out. Because of this, I dislike thinking of things as symbols. I mean, sure, seeing goats might mean that I’m gullible. It might also mean that we had goats when I was a kid (We did). I think the best approach is to think about your dreams and about what they might mean based on what is happening in your life, then look some things up in a dream dictionary just to help you solidify your opinions (or for amusement). Then you can decide for yourself whether that hippopotamous was brought on by your aggressive nature or the fact that you went to the zoo last week.

Feel free to insert your own dreams below, or to analyze mine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

