Skip to content

Michelle Obama without wedding ring?

January 21, 2009

I’m not the sort of person who usually notices or discusses this sort of thing, but I couldn’t help but notice that Mrs. Obama is not wearing a ring on her ring finger in this photo.

Michelle Obama No Wedding Ring Photo by Getty Images

As near as I can tell, it looks as though she usually does, (a quick Google Image search for “Michelle Obama” reveals numerous photos of her wearing a wedding ring) but it appears that her desire to wear that enormous crazy-looking ring (which seems large enough to bang against a wedding band annoyingly) meant that the wedding band went by the wayside. It seems strange to me to take off a wedding ring in order to wear something else. Why not just wear the fancy ring on the other hand? Also, today of all days, Michelle Obama must have known that she would be in the spotlight. It seems a bad time to take off one’s wedding ring. Perhaps she lost it in the shower? As of now, I appear to be the only one who has posted anything about this, so I’ll keep my eyes open and let you know of any further developments.

On a side note, it strikes me as slightly amusing that most people, this evening, are talking more about Michelle Obama’s Neighborhood Ball dress than they are about the new President. Just check out Google Trends, if you don’t believe me.

Update: This article discusses Mrs. Obama’s lack of a wedding band in a rather positive light. I would have to agree with the author (and with several of those who have commented on this post) that the lack of a wedding band does not in any way seem to imply a lack of stability in the Obamas’ marriage. Anyone can see that they are very much in love.

EDIT: Though I could only find a couple of sources discussing this, it appears that this ring might be a “thank you” from Barack to Michelle. I imagine that the sources are wrong about the price of the ring ($30,000), mostly because the ring that they suggest he was intending to purchase looks nothing like the one she was wearing tonight, and also because I trust our new President to know that this would be an extravagant expense and look terrible in the face of our current economic crisis.

Also, keep an eye out for a later post with a photo from Gaza that has particularly caught my attention.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 7:12 am

    i agree it was a wonderful exp. watching something like this for the first time in my life even at 37, and they had all the moves and eye catching looks to each other but why no wedding ring for her. I really think that one should never take off that circle of unity and love no matter what???

  2. Lula permalink
    January 21, 2009 11:32 am

    I was wondering the same thing! On this (of all days) why would a woman go without her wedding ring???
    No way. Stand by your man and all that. Bad choice. I’ll also say that her dress was a bad choice too, looks sort of like she’d been toilet-papered. And Mrs Biden is having a mid life crisis with the boots showing knees and the strapless gown. Grow up!!

  3. Eiram permalink
    January 21, 2009 1:29 pm

    Mrs. Obama, why did you take off your wedding ring??? How often will you be NOT wearing the one special symbol that tells the world you are a married woman? I was shocked when I saw that you didn’t wear it on that very special day. I HOPE that you think about never go without it again in your life.

    I also think you could have chosen a more elegant gown. I hope you won’t wear that dress to any more important formal dances or dinners. It didn’t look very good on you.

  4. January 21, 2009 3:27 pm

    I agree about the wedding ring; odd really. She is a highly intelligent woman -surely she knew what she was doing? The dress didn’t do a thing for her; personally she needed something sleek and elegant. But moreso, her posture and arm waving need attention as a First Lady. This sounds terrible, but I just don’t want her to get overly criticized for the next several years! Michelle O – your stature (the way you carry yourself) needs to be equal in mind and body. Good Luck.

  5. Jane McConnell permalink
    January 21, 2009 7:48 pm

    Perhaps she is making a feminist statement – the wedding ring typically signifies ownership, and perhaps Michelle does not want to portray herself as a woman owned, but rather
    as an equal partner who had the freedom to choose whether she wears her ring?

    She is First Lady anyway – so technicaly she is married to America 😉

  6. January 21, 2009 9:19 pm

    She wore the wedding ring earlier in the day, I read somwhere. And I take my wedding ring off all the time. I have one tattooed on my finger but the actual ring that I have is very precious to me and when I go out, sometimes I leave it at home in fear of losing it in a crowd, a public place, etc.

    And beside all of that, wedding ring doesn’t make a marriage. I noticed that usually it is certain people whoimmediately look to your finger the second to mention an engagement or marriage…..the people who care more about things than relationships.

    They obviously love each other and are happy. Good for them.

  7. dalia permalink
    January 21, 2009 11:50 pm

    I could care less if she wears the ring or not and it shouldn’t be a big deal to anyone else. It’s a ring, plain and simple. Why do we put so much emphasis on something that goes on your finger. Maybe she cut her finger mid day and the ring was annoying her. WHO CARES. What matters is the cool couple they are!

  8. deepa permalink
    January 28, 2009 10:11 pm

    The ring and the earrings were loaners from the jeweler Loree Rodkin and only the bangles were hers. The wedding rings or band are more symbolic and what more does one want when you have your spouse right next to you and in love with you! They make a great couple and seem to be very much in love.

Leave a Reply

