Skip to content

Where I’ve been on the internet this week

January 29, 2009

When I was a little girl, I’d come home from school to my grandmother’s house and immediately start talking and not stop until my mother got there to pick me up. My grandmother once asked me why I talked so fast and I replied “Well, I’ve got a lot of stuff to say, and not much time to say it in.” Now I have seemingly unlimited time, but I still don’t feel like I have enough time to say all of it. That said (ha!) I thought I’d blog about where I’ve been on the internet this week. I think it’s interesting to see what websites other people use/read/interact with. Also, it’s a way to give a shout-out to people whose blogs I am reading, even if I am a dreaded lurker. Most of these sites I’m pulling from memory, but I’m also delving into my computer’s History to refresh my memory. I’m only including sites that I have visited multiple times, for expediency’s sake.

1. Gmail – I’m addicted. I almost always have Gmail open if I’m awake and at home. I’m one of those people who checks for new mail every twenty minutes. Also Google Reader, Documents, and Photos.

2. Craigslist – Also an addiction. Mostly the community and gigs sections, but I also check out Free, Wanted, and sometimes Barter. And of course there’s always the kinkosaur.

3. Yahoo News – I read the news about once a day, including my favorites, the Odd News and Dear Abby. I’m not sure if Yahoo News is the best news source out there, as I’ve never really explored any others. Suggestions from readers are certainly welcome.

4. WordPress – obviously. Other than working on my blog and reading one or two others, I don’t do much else here most of the time.

5. 20something Bloggers – My friend Mike (look for him below) recommended this community to me, and I’ve found it to be really useful and enjoyable, though I do feel a bit like I’m tagging along invisibly on his coattails. Since I didn’t know where to start, I started with people that he knew, and discovered that I like most of them.

6. Bravo Bride – a sort of classified site for wedding stuff. I’ve actually not explored it much yet, but I expect it to become indispensible.

7. Youtube – this is my standard method for listening to a song when I am too lazy to get up and find the CD.

8. Twitter – Twitter satisfies both the stalker and the blabber in me. You should follow me!

9. Facebook – another nod to the stalker/blabber parts of my personality. Also a good place to post my photos/writing where people who actually care can read them. I just realized that this blog posts to my facebook profile. Not quite as anonymous as I originally intended. Hmm.

10. Hulu – mostly this is my fiance, but we both enjoy watching Angel, Bones, and whatever else strikes our fancy on Hulu.

11. Wikipedia – when I’m not sure if I’ve accurately described something as a line drive, I ask wikipedia.

12. Weather.com – because I really dislike surprise hailstorms

13. Lolcats – I won’t link to it, because I suspect it of giving me a virus, and now use it through the relative safety of Google Reader, but I adore lolcats, as immature as that makes me.

14. A Practical Wedding – I just started reading this blog a week or two ago, but it has already been hugely useful to me.

15. Journey Songs – a blog written by one of my fiance’s many interesting cousins. This one lives in Alaska and seems to be doing something wonderful every day.

16. No Ordinary Rollercoaster – I think I got there via Mike, or perhaps 20somethingbloggers, and I’ve only been a reader for a week or so, but I’m liking what I’m reading.

17. Not Always Right – absolutely hilarious interactions in the customer service and retail world.

18. The Broke-Ass Bride – another new read for me (I’ve really been broadening my blog horizons lately and adding a lot of stuff to my Google Reader).

19. Your Ill-fitting Overcoat – definitely a theft from Mike, but a good one.

20. and last, but not least, The Corner Booth – This blog is written by my dear friend (and future roommate) Mike, and I link to him a lot. There’s a reason for that. Check him out.

Why, oh why, do my lists always have exactly 20 items? Coming soon: “17 Reasons Not to Make Lists of 20 Items!”

What websites have you visited this week?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    January 29, 2009 6:11 am

    I’ve not had time to visit much, really. Just hitting up my Google Reader. Which is how I found this. Which is how I know to thank you very much for your kind words and hospitality. 🙂

  2. January 29, 2009 7:12 pm

    I’m one of those people who checks for new mail every twenty minutes.

    Oh, you wait twenty minutes? 🙂

    And thanks for the shout-out! A recent find for me was fuckyoupenguin.blogspot.com – I laughed so hard that I had tears running down my face.

  3. aribabybug permalink*
    January 29, 2009 8:45 pm

    Oh, yes! fuckyoupenguin is amazing!

  4. January 29, 2009 9:16 pm

    It’s cool you are watching Angel! I have been obsessed with Buffy and everything Joss Whedon has created for a very long time.

  5. Mike permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:46 pm

    Oh, a tip re: 20SB. I find it very enjoyable to take some time and click around on the home page, or on friends’ friend pages, and start looking at all kinds of profiles. I make sure to check the blogs out–if I like it, I add the person, and put them in my Google Reader. Eventually, I’ll delurk and say hey or something.

    Moral of the story: it’s worth it to “waste time” on that there Internet.

  6. February 1, 2009 7:13 pm

    Hey! Thanks for the blog shout-out 🙂

Leave a Reply

