Skip to content

Wedding Ceremony Quotes

February 2, 2009

I’ve been gradually amassing a huge pile of possible quotes and readings for my wedding ceremony, and I thought I would share what I’ve got so far. If you’re planning on having a non-traditional or non-religious ceremony, these quotes will be great for you!

“My most brilliant achievement was my ability to be able to persuade my wife to marry me.”  Winston Churchill

“Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies.” Aristotle

“Infatuation is when you think he’s as sexy as Robert Redford, as smart as Henry Kissinger, as noble as Ralph Nader, as funny as Woody Allen, and as athletic as Jimmy Conners. Love is when you realize that he’s as sexy as Woody Allen, as smart as Jimmy Connors, as funny as Ralph Nader, as athletic as Henry Kissinger and nothing like Robert Redford – but you’ll take him anyway.”  Judith Viorst

“Let the wife make the husband glad to come home, and let him make her sorry to see him leave.”  Martin Luther

“Life’s greatest happiness is to be convinced we are loved.”  Victor Hugo

“The secret to having a good marriage is to understand that marriage must be total, it must be permanent and it must be equal.”  Frank Pittman

“I have come to the conclusion never again to think of marrying, and for this reason, I can never be satisfied with anyone who would be blockhead enough to have me.”  Abraham Lincoln

From MOBY DICK
–Herman Melville

He seemed to take to me quite as naturally and unbiddenly as I to him; and when our smoke was over, he pressed his forehead against mine, clasped me round the waist, and said that henceforth we were married; meaning in his country’s phrase, that we were bosom friends; he would gladly die for me, if need should be…
After supper, and another social chat and smoke, we went to our room together. He made me a present of his embalmed head; took out his enormous tobacco wallet, and groping under the tobacco, drew out some thirty dollars in silver; then spreading them on the table, and mechanically dividing them into two equal portions, pushed one towards me, and said it was mine.

From STILL LIFE WITH WOODPECKER
-–Tom Robbins

Who knows how to make love stay?
1. Tell love you are going to Junior’s Deli on Flatbush Avenue in Brooklyn to pick up a cheesecake, and if love stays, it can have half. It will stay.
2. Tell love you want a memento of it and obtain a lock of its hair. Burn the hair in a dime-store incense burner with yin/yang symbols on three sides. Face southwest. Talk fast over the burning hair in a convincingly exotic language. Remove the ashes of the burnt hair and use them to paint a mustache on your face. Find love. Tell it you are someone new. It will stay.
3. Wake love up in the middle of the night. Tell it the world is on fire. Dash to the bedroom window and pee out of it. Casually return to bed and assure love that everything is going to
be all right. Fall asleep. Love will be there in the morning.

i love you much(most beautiful darling)

more than anyone on the earth and i
like you better than everything in the sky

-sunlight and singing welcome your coming

although winter may be everywhere
with such a silence and such a darkness
noone can quite begin to guess

(except my life)the true time of year-

and if what calls itself a world should have
the luck to hear such singing(or glimpse such
sunlight as will leap higher than high
through gayer than gayest someone’s heart at your each

nearness)everyone certainly would(my
most beautiful darling)believe in nothing but love

- e. e. cummings

i carry your heart

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you
here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart
i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)
- e. e. cummings
This last one is my absolute favorite, probably because it reminds me of this totally unrelated video, which I might sing at the reception.
What quotes or readings are you planning on using at your wedding?
(Arrgh! No matter how many times I space these last few sentences out, it won’t save that way. Will try to fix it tomorrow. My apologies for the lack of spacing.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 10:23 pm

    hey there…i love the quotes you gathered…. here are two other quotes that i have in my own collection.

    “Why do we close our eyes when we sleep, when we cry, when we imagine, when we kiss? Because the most beautiful thing
    in the world is unseen”

    “Love could be set in motion quickly, but true love needs time to grow into something strong and enduring, love is above all, about COMMITMENT, DEDICATION, and a belief that spending your lifetime with your partner would create something greater than the sum of what the two of you could accomplish separately”

  2. May 29, 2009 3:28 pm

    Love is like pi; natural, irrational, and very important.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

