Skip to content

Video of the Week

March 2, 2009

Whenever someone posts a video in their blog, I have taken to listening to the first minute or so, and more if I’m interested. Tonight I was introduced to Miss Rosi Golan, whom I enjoyed thoroughly. It’s a new way of finding music, but it seems to work for me.

Because I imagine that there are others out there who sometimes find new music through blogs, as I do, I’d like to publicly endorse an artist. She is Amanda Palmer, of the Dresden Dolls.  She plays some spectacular piano, and her music is the first that has truly spoken to me. I mean, I like music. I do. However, this is the first time that I’ve understood the groupie mentality. I would totally sleep on couches and wash clothes in order to follow her around on tour. She’s super-open about everything, and writes a blog that I have become completely and utterly addicted to.

Check out these two videos and tell me that you don’t love her as much as I do. The first video is from her new album, and is, in my opinion, the best song on the album. The second is a song from Yes, Virginia, and an old favorite. This is absolultely the best live version of this song that I’ve seen. It’s a bit long, but listen all the way through, because there’s a really hilarious bit in the middle that you don’t want to miss.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 3:52 am

    cool octopus thingy!

Leave a Reply

